Balance

I was sitting out on my neighbors porch the other night feeling very proud of myself. I was proud because I was sitting there being social instead of inside watching Firefly for the 10th time. Now, I know there’s nothing wrong with sitting inside and chillin’ with yourself for the evening but I also know myself and if it were up to me that’s all I’d ever do. It’s a struggle for me to choose to be social over being comfortable so that night I won.
One of the things that facilitates my ventures to the outside world is cannabis. I’m lucky enough to live in a place where cannabis use is not as demonized as other places. This allows me the luxury of showing off whatever new/novel/exceptionally tasty cannabis consumption method with people AND socialize at the same time. It’s lovely. It’s also not my only method of socializing. I DON’T always have to be medicating when socializing. I am also a big trivia fan so I am constantly asking people if they know x,y,or z. I’ve found that 95% of the time people respond with some trivia of their own. It’s a fun little ice breaker anyone can do.  Other times I do the typical “Oh your (article of clothing) is so cute! Where’d you get it?” even though I really don’t care about fashion. It is in these moments I am proud of myself because even though most of the population can do these things with ease I don’t. I’m working on it though.

Leave a Reply

