Authenticity

               Follow your passion. Everyone has heard this at one point or another. Living in the Silicon Valley, this seems to be especially true. Here’s the thing: following your passion is a luxury. When you’re more worried about being an outcast because of a marginalized identity following your passion is not high on your list of priorities. Everyone wants to belong. It’s why things like meetup.com work: people want to connect with other people.

              Stoners are one of the most authentic group of people I’ve ever met. I’m not the most social of people so whenever I’m at a social gathering I tend to look for the stoners. They are the group I am most comfortable with because of the welcoming atmosphere. Once the preliminary sharing of tokes is through I get to discover the diverse interests of my fellow people. I wish I could talk to more people about my love of cannabis and be my authentic self in this regard but I can’t. I’m sure that there are other people out there who feel the same.

              One of the consequences of living in the shadows and only getting to revel in the loveliness that is cannabis when around other confirmed stoners is that you miss out on potential connection with other people. I know this is the big draw back in my find-the-stoners-plan at social gatherings. The thing is for people who use cannabis to reduce social anxiety this might be the only way they can strike up a conversation. That is perfectly alright as long as it’s not the ONLY way one can socialize.

Leave a Reply

